Your Answer

How do I void or delete a bill or payment?

What is the difference between voiding and deleting?

Voiding changes the amount of the bill or payment to zero, but keeps a record of it in QuickBooks.

Deleting permanently removes the bill or payment. When you delete a bill that you've already paid, QuickBooks creates a credit with the vendor. If you delete a payment, the bill (or bills) it was paying will show unpaid balances.

  1. Open the Accounts Payable register.
    1. Go to the Lists menu and click Chart of Accounts.
    2. Double-click the Accounts Payable account.
  2. Find the bill or payment in the register window.

    Remember that register transactions are in date order by default. You may need to scroll up or down to find your transaction.

    Click the 1-Line checkbox to see more transactions in the window.

    Go to the Edit menu and click Find to have QuickBooks help you find the transaction.

  3. Go to the Edit menu and click Void Bill or Void Bill Pmt to void the transaction, or click Delete Bill or Delete Bill Pmt. to delete the transaction.
  4. Click Record to confirm your choice.
Did this article help you?
Your Feedback
Cancel Submit